Facebook has finally rolled out a feature we’ve all been begging for years

Facebook has finally rolled out a feature we’ve all been begging for years

Facebook has announced that it is “unsending” everyone – giving them the option to “unsend” messages in their instant messaging application Messenger. Thanks to TechCrunch, we discovered that Zuckerberg used his executive power to remove messages sent to himself (and other executives) in other people’s inboxes (and from Facebook’s servers), which he did in 2010. You may think that Facebook CEO Mark Zuckerberg gave himself this special opportunity when the riots broke out last spring, but not ordinary users. As a normal user you can “delete” a message by pressing and holding and selecting “Remove”, it will not only delete the message seen by the recipient, it will only appear in your inbox.  Clicking on the removal button brings up the “Remove for you” option, which literally means removal just for you. Sorry anyone accidentally sent a message and sighed with relief that they were able to delete it and now understand what it means to panic.

After the backlash regarding the special treatment of Zuckerberg and co. for “security”, Facebook has announced that it has acknowledged that its executives’ privacy options are not available to users and plans to roll out the removal feature to everyone. Until that day, they said, Zuckerberg would not be allowed to use the feature. The new option, which was officially launched yesterday, now gives you the opportunity to “move for everyone”, which means your message will be removed from the recipient’s inbox or group chat and Facebook’s server (finally).  Here’s just a small catch: You must delete the message within 10 minutes of sending it.

Facebook has also confirmed that it will keep deleted messages “for a limited time” if anyone wants to report abuse before it is permanently removed. Removing it within the first 10 minutes of sending a message means you can correct a mistake or restore what you regretted sending, but you can’t go back and edit your message history.

Stan Chudnovsky, head of Facebook Messenger, told TechCrunch, “We need to make sure that we do not open up to new threats. We need to make sure that people are not sending you bad messages and delete them because there is nothing we can do if you report them and the message is not there. “

So we’re sure many of you are scratching to find out when you can grab this new feature (e.g., it may not be coming soon). OK, it should be available for both Android and iOS by now (this new feature is available to half the team through testing in IFLS Office) so update your apps and operating systems, and your accidentally worrying days aren’t ‘yours’ again – or You know, a little more NSFW – should be over.

Share This Post