Classification of Carbohydrate

Classification of carbohydrate: Carbohydrate can be divided into three main divisions:

1. Monosaccharide: Monosaccharide is that carbohydrate which cannot be broken down into simple carbohydrate by hydrolysis.


(i) Triose; example: Glycerin, Di-hydroxy acetone etc

(ii) Tetrose; e.g.- Oxaloacetic acid

(iii) Pentose- e.g.- Ribulose-5 phosphate, Ribose etc.

(iv) Hexose- e.g.- Glucose, Fructose etc.

2. Oligosaccharide: Oligosaccharide is that carbohydrate which can be broken down into more than one simple carbohydrate usually two to six by hydrolysis.

(i) Disaccharide- The carbohydrate which is made of two monosaccharide is said to be disaccharide.


(ii) Trisaccharide: Trisaccharide consists of three Monosaccharide.


3. Polysaccharide: The carbohydrate having higher molecular weight, which can be broken down into many monosaccharide by hydrolysis is said to be the polysaccharide.


(i) Starch

(ii) Cellulose

(iii) Glycogen

Share This Post