Different parts of a Flower


The specially modified shoot which performs the sexual reproduction of a plant is known as a Flower.

Different parts of a Flower

A typical flower comprises of four parts –

i) Calyx

ii) Corolla

iii) Androecium

iv) Gynoecium

Out of the four parts of a complete flower, the first two are the accessory parts while the last two are essential parts- Androecium and Gynoecium are the essential parts of a flower because sexual reproduction is not possible without their acme participations.

Fig: Different Parts of a Complete Flower